Uninstall Windows® 7 in HP ProBook® 4420s Notebook PC
The things to be kept in mind when uninstalling Windows® 7 from HP ProBook 4420s Notebook PC.
With continued use of HP ProBook 4420s Notebook PC, one may experience issues such as change in user requirements, change in organizational policies, reduced performance, file corruption, and virus infection, amongst many reasons, that may lead a user to uninstall the preinstalled operating system, in this case Windows® 7. Whatever may the case be, with such an action, consequences that could be irreversible may occur, resulting in more time and money being spent on trying to restore the system back to its default settings.
Discussed here are:
- What to keep in mind while uninstalling Windows® 7
- Problems that might occur
- Tips to resolve the issues
What to keep in mind while uninstalling Windows® 7
All previously installed programs and data are automatically erased with the removal of the operating system. The device drivers for the notebook are uninstalled in the process, thus resulting in the loss of the manufacturer's default settings. The accumulated user files, such as photos, music, movies, etc., are also lost.
Problems that might occur
When the operating system is removed, all the previously installed device drivers, applications, and saved user files are lost. In addition, if the process is being handled by a layman, they may not understand the different file systems used by Windows® 7 and the Windows® version that they would like to revert to, for example, NT52 or NT60. A wrong choice of file system may have adverse effects on the overall performance of the operating system. Some of the hardware on the notebook may have been preconditioned to operate with Windows® 7 and using a different operating system may result in hardware and software compatibility.
Device drivers are an important aspect for the normal running of any system. Most vendors today do not supply the recovery CD containing the drivers, but rather store them in a hidden partition of the hard disk. If the user does not make a backup, then he or she will be forced to buy a new recovery disk to restore the system to the manufacturer's default settings.
First and foremost, the user should ensure that he or she has created a backup recovery disc from the recovery partition, to be used to restore the system to the manufacturer's default settings. The installed applications and user saved files should also be backed to an external device. If the user needs to use multiple operating systems on the same notebook, he or she can use utility software to create new partitions to put the additional software. The user will, thus, be able to choose which operating system to boot with at startup. This will go a long way in preventing the loss of data, compatibility issues, and extra cost and time lost in recovering lost work.