System recovery in HP TouchSmart® 600 Quad series
Role and benefits of system recovery in HP TouchSmart 600 Quad series
HP TouchSmart 600 Quad is one of the best laptops available in the market. It has many system recovery options to recover the computer from a failure. We might install many programs and connect hardware devices to our laptop. Sometimes these third party software and hardware create conflicts and computer crashes. A computer could crash due to system file errors, virus issues etc. At times your computer stops working or slows down after the installation of software or hardware. Whatever the reasons are for system crash, the role of system recovery is to recover the computer from a failure and make it work as it was working before a system crash or a failure occurred.
Different system recovery tools or options available in HP TouchSmart 600 Quad series are as follows:
- System restore
- Advanced boot options
- Restore to factory defaults
System restore is a very effective and commonly used system recovery tool. You can create a restore point or restore the computer to an earlier stage using this tool. Restore points are automatically created and if the system does not start or function properly after a recent change is made, you can select a date to which you want to restore the computer and the computer would be restored to that date after you restart it. System restore can also be performed in safe mode.
Advanced boot options
Advanced boot screen gives you a list of system recovery options. This screen can be launched by tapping the ‘F8’ key during computer start up. You can select safe mode which loads your computer with drivers and services. Once the computer starts in safe mode, you can undo the last change that you made. ”Last known good configuration” is another option for system recovery in advanced boot option; this option tries to start the computer by undoing the change that was made after the last successful system start up.
If all other system recovery tools fail, you can restore the computer to factory defaults by booting the computer from the recovery CDs or by accessing “Recovery manager” in ‘All programs’ menu. All the data would be lost if you restore the computer to factory settings. So it is necessary to back up all the data before the system is restored to factory settings.